Bass Fishing Tournament, North Carolina

Bass Tournament Lake NormanIf you love bass fishing and have never been in a bass tournament, you’re missing out. I started fishing in bass tournaments when I was 16 years old. I still haven’t won anything, but the important thing is I get to do what I love-FISH!

Recently, I participated in the Jim Ledbetter tournament. So, not only were my sons and I spending the day fishing, we were raising money for cancer.  The tournament was on                                                                                  March 12th.  We had a blast.

The  Skeeter-Yamaha dealership took over the tournament three years ago while increasing the prizes, which is pretty cool, though I doubt we’ll ever win anything.

First prize was a sleek 2011 Skeeter ZX 190 Bass Boat with a VZ150 HPDI Yamaha outboard. Boy, was that a beauty! Second place was great, giving away $2,000, and I think third place was a winning of $1,600.  The winnings go on down to 20th place.  Maybe we’ll come in 20th next year or this fall.  If we’d caught the largest fish, we would have gotten a prize. A new fishing rod would be nice.  Mine snapped in half when we got back to the house. That will teach me to close the garage door without making sure everything’s out of the way.

I wish my wife showed some interest in bass fishing because there’s a category for husband-wife teams.  My sons and I split up their sons (there are four) and compete in the adult-child category. I’m glad I could borrow a kid; I didn’t want to be in the senior team category.

Bass fishing is one of my favorite things to do. I’ve met a lot of nice men and women competing in these tournaments.  If you love bass fishing, it’s worth at least checking out a local tournament.

2 responses to “Bass Fishing Tournament, North Carolina

  1. Hi Guy:

    Loved your story, Gettin readdy to retire around August. Don’t want to be cough Potato u no what i mean ? Anyway never been in Contest would like to get started asap. .. I would like to start here in NC .. i live around Rockingham, can u tell how to find contest to go to in the area .

    Thanks Walt

    • Yeah, i understand the couch potato syndrome! The best place (in my opinion) for bass tournament information is . They have a section dedicated to tournaments. It’s a great site. You can watch Anglers’ Channel John Byrne interview the tournament winners.

Leave a Reply

